If you dare, today is the day you will soar.

20120227-112004.jpg

Several years ago I had a dream that has been a motivating force for me ever since. When I awoke from it, a vivid collection of words from the dream stuck with me and have become my words to live by.

As I slept, I had some strange dream that was a conglomeration of different images and scenes. I don’t really remember much of the actual dream. What I do remember is waking up feeling like I was still in my dream. Words were physically visible in front of my mind’s eye. It was not like I was thinking the words, but rather like they were physically present. The words hung on as if to ensure that after I woke up, I didn’t go about my day and ignore the dream that I just had.

I instantly grabbed a notebook and pen to write down the words that seemed to be imprinted on my brain. I was afraid that I would forget them as I typically do with dreams from the previous night after a short while of being awake. Not this time. The words were strangely still clearly visible.

Once I wrote the words down, I sat back and stared at them. What did they mean? How did they come to me in a dream? Why were they so vividly displayed in my mind? Were they a message from some divine being or did my mind just randomly come up with them? Was there a reason for them coming to me now?

The words that I was staring at were:

If you dare, today is the day you will soar.

Go for what you know in your heart you want to accomplish despite the fears, the negative self-talk and the cynical opinions of others and you will live your life to its fullest. That is what these words mean to me.

I didn’t have anything big that day that would need some extra motivation to get through. I could have ignored it as a random occurrence or something too strange to want to deal with. Instead I took it as a mantra for my life. Although I often forget and go back to my old ways, I try to remember to follow this mantra when I get into situations that cause me pause because of my fear, discomfort, or laziness.

I now have a necklace with these words inscribed on and a coffee mug displaying them as well…thanks to my wonderful wife for giving me those as a constant reminder to go for what I want in life.

Are you going for what you want in your life or could you use these words to propel you into action?

One thought on “If you dare, today is the day you will soar.

  1. Pingback: Serendipity Strikes Straight from Synergy | AlongTheTao

Leave a Reply

