You cannot be grateful and angry simultaneously

I recently watched an interview with Tony Robbins and one of the things that he said that stood out to me was that “you cannot be grateful and angry simultaneously”. Anger is one of the things that I have struggled with in my own life and so this thought really resonated with me.

So my challenge to myself and to you is to take a step back the next time you feel anger surging into your body and mind. Look for the thing about that moment that you can be grateful about. See if that recognition of gratefulness helps to put the brakes on anger’s acceleration.

For example, when you walk into the bathroom and your son has peed on everything except that water in the toilet bowl. “Oh look, he peed on the seat again, and the floor…and the wall…and really… how the heck did he manage to get it all the way up there”.

Instead of storming out and proceeding to let anger take over the situation, take stock instead. “What can I be grateful for in this situation”?

“I am grateful that we have a home that he can pee all over. I am grateful that he is alive and healthy and able to stand here to pee”, (although you secretly wish he had to sit down to pee). “I am grateful that I care enough as a mother/father/sister/brother to approach this situation with love instead of anger in order to correct him without created more of a rift in our relationship”.

I know … it’s harder than it sounds. But let’s give it a try.

I will let you know if it works for me if you let me know if it works for you.

5 thoughts on “You cannot be grateful and angry simultaneously

  1. I love this one!! Be grateful for everything that we have and we don’t because there is always something to learn from it for us, for others and from others. I am above all grateful to God who helped me to rescue the best of everything and for keeping me real in what is more important in life. I am grateful for friends who are family for us and for my children who are a true blessing every minute and grateful for life and for what we have in front of us to enjoy.

  2. Pingback: Things to be Grateful for Today « My Magnificent Mess

  3. Pingback: let me hear you sound off! « Theres a Chip in My Heart…

Leave a Reply

