Don’t ease into it; push through with all you’ve got

Source: weheartit.com via Sherry on Pinterest

During my after work run the other day I was confronted with three hills towards the end of the run. Each hill was bigger than the previous and the last one was long and steep.

I started into the first hill at a sluggish pace. As I slowly plodded my way up the hill, it felt as if the hill was pushing back against me as I attempted to climb it. I felt as if I was going to stop and catch my breath because I was running out of steam.

Instead of stopping, I felt something inside of me trigger and I turned it on pushing into a aggressive pace as I finished the climb and crested the first hill. That was the inspiration that I needed because I powered my way up the other two hills with purpose and ease.

Catching my breath as I ran out the flat section after the last hill my mind replayed what had just happened. I wondered what was the difference between the first part of the initial hill where I felt like I couldn’t go on and the feeling of easily powering my way up the other larger hills.

The difference was my mindset. When I felt tired, I was running without purpose. I was running a flat section with my mind somewhere else and when I hit the first hill, it felt as if the run had gotten harder than I was ready for.

Once I changed my mindset to the purpose of climbing those hills and not giving up, I found a renewed vigor and motivation.

This example can be equated to any challenge. If you ease into a challenge without a sense of purpose it will slowly wear you down, even if it is not that hard. But if you jump into it with purpose and conviction, you will amaze yourself at how easily you can take on even the toughest challenge.

So the next time that you are faced with a challenge, don’t ease into it aimlessly. Push though it with purpose and conviction and give it all you have.

4 thoughts on “Don’t ease into it; push through with all you’ve got

  1. I love this post! The name caught my eye and reminded me of how I enter the cold water of the nearby lake in the summer: by running into the the water and diving in! Walking in slowly is far too painful in my opinion. Just plunge underwater, surface for a wee gasp as the body adjusts, then swim around and enjoy! Your wise post here has given me great insight towards using the ‘push through’ idea into my tentative attempts at running. If I can plunge into cold water, I can return to running again. You are wonderfully inspiring. I am so glad to have found you through Genie!

    • Thank you very much Gina for the wonderful comment.

      Entering the cold water is a great example. I am always telling my kids at the pool to just jump in when they are hesitantly dipping their toes in the cold water. That is a great analogy for life’s challenges.

      Running is another great analogy. The mental game of getting ready and getting out for s run is often challenging, but once you are out there and especially once you are done you feel better for having done it. I often find myself wondering why I hesitated so much about gong out for a run when I know it makes me feel so good. Easing into it often causes the run to never happen.

Leave a Reply

