Though it Twists and Turns, the Journey Continues…

Source: morethansayings.blogspot.com via Beth on Pinterest

Ok, so I was ambitious in my original intention to finish the 81 verses of the Tao Te Ching by 12/12/2012 as I originally wrote about on my “The Journey” page. It was a good intention and it had some solid reasoning behind it, but let’s face it, things happen. Life steps in. Sometimes work was too busy, sometimes I was too tired and sometimes family life was too enticing.

Of course, there were also those periods where my mind played tricks on me. It would say things like “why are you doing this?”, “you are not a writer”, “this is a waste of time”, “you have more important things you should be doing”, “no one cares about what you are writing”. There were many more self-defeating thoughts, but you get the point.

Unfortunately, sometimes I would fall victim to these types of thoughts and I would step away from the keyboard and question if I should ever go back. This would have me feeling defeated.

Being defeated is often a temporary condition. Giving up is what makes it permanent. – Marilyn vos Savant.

Regardless of how consuming those negative thoughts were, I always felt a pull to come back and continue. Eventually, I would snap myself out of the trance that had me trapped, and the positive thoughts about this journey would trample over the negative ones. Back at it I would go.

Never give up on something that you can’t go a day without thinking about. – unknown

I have now finished 50 of the verses and its already been almost a year since I started this journey. I may not have reached my destination the way that I intended, but as we have learned from the Tao so far, we need to set our intentions, but not be attached to how we reach them.

Success is a journey, not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome. – Arthur Ashe

I can say without a doubt that the manner in which the journey has unfolded so far is the way that it was meant to unfold and I am exactly at the place in my journey where I need to be. How do I know that? Because this is where I am.

This has been a beautiful, mind-opening, and enlightening journey so far and I am grateful to have those that are following this journey along for the ride. Let’s see what the journey reveals next.

5 thoughts on “Though it Twists and Turns, the Journey Continues…

  1. Keep on writing. I have the same negative thoughts every day, especially the “who cares what you write.” I am telling you that I do care what you write. I have learned a lot from your blog, and your journey, so keep it up! Thanks for all you do.

  2. You are exactly where you are meant to be on your journey, and we are all patient and loving. Keep taking your steps and posting. We are always here and enjoy the flow of your words as they come. Cheers to continuing on in 2013!

  3. Oh, these negative thought forms!! Truly, another way the ego keeps us “off track” from being WHO WE ARE. I have a best friend, who reminded me last month, that “living from our truth” is most essential in our journey. I have considered what living from my truth means, is, feels like, how do I know? Well, if I feel inspired, joyful, called to action, present . . . this must be living my truth.

Leave a Reply

