Reflections on The Road Not Taken – Part I

Source: piccsy.com via Dimi on Pinterest

Since It was introduced to me many years ago, “The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost has been my favorite poem. I have a book containing a collection of his poems that is worn and weary with the page containing this poem dog-eared and well used from its repeated reading.

I have had the intention to share this poem for a while now and to write about how I came across it and what it has meant to me. However as intentions often do, this particular intention had been collecting dust in one of my idea notebooks.

That is until recently. Over the last several weeks, I have been reminded of this poem repeatedly. In fact, so many times that I can’t ignore it any longer.

Tuesday night, when I posted the video by Kid President, I heard him recite those familiar words “Two roads diverged in a wood, and I took the one less traveled by”. It reminded me of my intention and I realized that I had heard this poem mentioned several times recently.

The next morning was the final straw when I turned on the radio and immediately heard a report on NPR about the 50th anniversary of Robert Frost’s death. About an hour later as I sat crossed legged on my yoga mat, the teacher set the intention for the class. You guessed it; the intention for the class came from the very same poem that I was being reminded of so frequently.

Ok Universe, I hear you. It’s time to dust off that intention and get the pen warmed up (or keyboard depending on the mood).

As I work on writing the words that my intention was leading me to and prepare a post that I hope to complete in the next day or two, I thought I would leave you with the poem in the meantime.

Enjoy! I would love to hear what the poem means to you.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

~ Robert Frost

7 thoughts on “Reflections on The Road Not Taken – Part I

  1. Hi Sean, I enjoyed reading this poem. “The road less traveled” means, to me, to make the choice to live my own life. Not the life my parents want me to live; not the life my friends want me to live, or the life I “should” live according to society. Choosing the “road less traveled” is to live by my own principles and values while respecting all forms of life and rules of society…yes, this is possible. Taking the road less traveled makes all the difference because it brings freedom and peace to my life and, therefore, it makes me able to better understand others and their freedom to make their own choices. The road most traveled is always available; I can take that option any time I want however, if I don’t do that by conviction chances are that I will try to impose my choice onto others. Taking the road less traveled has not always been the easiest thing to do; doing the right thing has required me to take responsibility, consciously, for every action. The road most traveled would have meant to follow others into making the wrong choices, regardless of the negative consequences. This has “made all the difference” in my life.

    Thanks for sharing the poem!

    • Great perspective. Thank you fro the comment. I really like your comment on not imposing our choice of paths on others. It is important to remember that each person’s path may be different than our own and that is perfectly fine. What matters is that each person is on the path that is right for them.

  2. Pingback: Reflections on The Road not Taken – Part II | AlongTheTao

  3. Pingback: The Road Not Taken….. | Deo Volente

Leave a Reply

